pursuit of purpose

What do I want to do in this life? I just want to wake up in the morning and feel excited for what the world has to offer me that day, and what I have to offer it. Is that so much to ask? I don’t think so. I truly believe that life can be like this. I’d like to go through a day and say “damn that felt good,” on a daily basis. The question is, does it feel like this only when you change your perspective, only when you change what you’re doing that day, or both?

I guess the first place to start on this topic is to really think about what I have to offer the world in my life time. I think that question is a little easier than it sounds, because knowing what you have to offer is pretty much in line with what you are good at and love. So  if you spend a little time thinking about this stuff, the answer is fairly easy to come by. That being said, I still haven’t come up with an answer really for myself. I know that creation and innovation are things that come naturally to me and are very important as well. But I’ve seen over the last two years, that those alone are simply not enough for me to go on. I think that I have to be creating or improving something that really has a purpose, instead of creating something because I thought of it. I don’t feel that what I’m working on now really falls in line with that purpose, which is why I’m quickly losing the energy needed to keep it going. I will say that I appreciate what I’m doing now because it really is a great opportunity to learn, meet people, and make a little money. I’m happy with that for the time being, but I will not be able to continue on this path until I at least get some bearings on what’s really important to me, and where I’d like to go.

I think there is a great danger to going through this life without at least thinking out what you want. It’s too easy to dwell on the lower end issues such as money. I know that it has to be about more. I truly believe that people can’t be motivated purely by money. In fact I believe that money never is in the top 3 motivators for anyone, although there are a lot of people out there who would tell me otherwise. I believe that more people prefer freedom, control, respect, admiration, and power…although they sometimes confuse the benefit of these things with being rich. The funny thing is that the people with the most money in this country (that earned it themselves) never set out to make money. They had a purpose, a clear vision in their heads, and they went after it.
It’s impossible to get what you want, if you haven’t thought about what you’d like to have.
Some good stuff to read up on:

http://www.stevepavlina.com/blog/2005/06/the-meaning-of-life-discover-your-pu…

Tags:

2 responses to “pursuit of purpose”

  1. Jay says :

    Dan, I overheard someone say in a cell phone conversation that money makes your life easier and that’s all it does. Money is only as important as you make it in your life. I often struggled, especially post college, with trying to find my “calling”, but had a change in perspective when I was a pharma rep calling on a “hippy” doctor in Gloucester Mass. The doctor told me that the meaning of life is to make ourselves happy everyday, and that is all. I thought this was simply perfect. An example of how I fit this into my own life is:I get up and play my guitar, only to put it down in frustration because I hate the song that I have wrote, and I hate the fact that I had invisioned something totally different. I may not pick up the guitar at all because of this way of over analyzing.OR I get up and play my guitar and just play it because it makes me happy to play guitar and by doing so (happily) I come up with better songs anyway.After the doctor told me this, I made an effort not to over-analyze “where I am” in life and really ask, “am I making myself happy today?”. cheers

  2. Bradley says :

    Excellent post man. I was reading a book the other day and it was talking about the progression of needs. It fits right in with what you are saying.People move through these stages in order.1) Survival – Basic needs.2) Material 3) Income4) Lifestyle – What would you do if you had time and money?5) Expressive – How would you express yourself if time and money werent an issue?6) SpiritualMy two cents. Keep the posts coming. 🙂

Leave a Reply

